36th Trofeo Principe de Asturias ends successfully

36th Trofeo Principe de Asturias ends successfully

Sep 07, 2021

The Spanish regatta ended this past 5th of September with eight winning teams at the Monte Real Yacht Club of Baiona. 

For another year sailing was the protagonist of the trophy. The participation of a vessel manned by members of ASEM Galicia, the Galician association against neuromuscular diseases, was in the spotlight of the competition.

The Principe de Asturias Trophy closed this Sunday at Rías Baixas its 36th edition after three days of intense competition. Strong wind conditions made it hard for participants, but in the end Silventis, Aceites Abril, Maracaná I, Bosch Service Solutions, Marcolfo, Salseiro, Etnia Barcelona and Erizana were the winners of the event. 

In the Aceites Abril ORC 1 class, Solventis de Malalo Bermúdez de Castro (MRCYB) did not give any chance to its rivals as they claimed the two parcial wins of the day. This meant they won their fourth Principe de Asturias Trophy. Second place went for Xekmatt and bronze for Magical. 

With three out of four wins in the Nacexa ORC 2 class, Aceites Abril finished first in front of Yess Racing who ended up second. Marías was third at the competition while the Red Devil team won the Premio Especial ABANCA.

In the Volvo Autesa ORC 3, Bosch Service Solutions had a full strike of victories and triumphed at the Trofeo Príncipe de Asturias. This adds up to their other two victories (2018, 2019 and 2021). In the Martin Miller ORC 4, Maracaná I was able to defeat their rivals in the last encounter. Second spot went to Orión and third to Sadamar Alma do Mar. 

trofeo principe de asturias fleet competing

Other sailing results

More results include the coastal race in the SH Robotics ORC Open, where only Salseiro crossed the finish line on time. The team of the Real Club Náutico de A Coruña became the winner after little resistance from Nahela and Villano, who ended in second and third spot respectively.

In the Gestilar Ladies Cup category the six tribulations competing could not compete on Sunday due to bad wind conditions. This means the final classification from Saturday became the definitive test. Erizana was proclaimed as winners of the competition with Serralleiras in second place and Titatis in third. 

In the prize award ceremony we could witness the best competitive spirit as besides all trophies handed in the Trofeo Presidente de la Xunta also saw the best vessels of different regattas receive their medals. In the ORC 0-1 class, victory went to Diego López with Mirfak, in the ORC 2-3 Diego Lopez also won with CM La Penela and in the J80 Guillermo Blanco was the winner.

Related News