Caitlin Simmers and Yago Dora win the ViVo Rio Pro

Nautical Channel
03 Jul 2023

A new event of the World Surf League Championship Tour 2023 has finished. There are only two more championships to go and the Grand Final, where the top 5 of the ranking will compete to find out the definitive champion of the season.

Currently, although the top two positions of the ranking in both categories seem quite clear, everything can still change as the last position (fifth) is quite close and competitive in both women's and men's categories. So the two remaining championships, to be held in South Africa and Tahiti, are of vital importance.

On September 8th the best surfers of the year will travel to California in the United States to take the trophy of the best of the year 2023 in the Rip Curl WLS finals.

In recent weeks the eighth CT event has been held in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, where we have seen impressive performances in one of the most important places in surfing. As we can see in the current ranking, Brazil is a country that has always provided this sport with surfers of great quality and who have left their mark on history. Especially recently and in the men's category, great young athletes who are standing out in recent years: with Gabriel Medina, Filipe Toledo or Italo Ferreira as top exhibitors, and these have been joined by young promises like Joao Chianca or Samuel Pupo.

On this occasion, the winners of this championship were Yago Dora and Caitlin Simmers in the men's and women's categories, respectively.

These victories have not greatly modified the overall ranking of the competition, but there are still, as we said, two championships in which some positions may change. For example, in the case of the top 5, we have seen a new change. The very young Caitlin Simmers, who is having a remarkable season, has slipped back into the top 5 after a great performance in Rio de Janeiro.

Currently the top5 of the ranking, which would be presented in the final in California is as follows:

Men's category:

  • Filipe Toledo (BRA)
  • Griffin Colapinto (USA)
  • Ethan Ewing (AUS)
  • Joao Chianca (BRA)
  • Yago Dora (BRA)

Women's category:

  • Carissa Moore (HAW)
  • Tyler Wright (AUS)
  • Caroline Marks (USA)
  • Molly Picklum (AUS)
  • Caitlin Simmers (USA)
Related News
Advertising Companies
Content Companies
Media Companies
Technology Companies